Easter and a Banana’s Revival

Happy Easter everyone! As much as I would love to say that I made a decadent Easter brunch, ham, or something special dedicated to Spring, I am afraid that I had a typical Sunday for a college student. When I say a typical Sunday I mean that I was in bed until noon, basked in the glorious sun for an hour, ate take out and yes, I did do some work! It’s just so difficult to get myself to do any work when the weather is as beautiful as it has been these last couple of days. I was also in a bit of recovery mode from an eventful Saturday night!

Yesterday was USC’s Springfest, an annual daylong concert with a long set list, food trucks, and a few activity booths. The past few years have had their moments of glory, but nothing beats this year. Wolfgang Gartner was the headliner this year, but he isn’t the reason why last night was amazing – it was the set right before him. Macklemore and Ryan Lewis. Two guys. A rapper and a DJ. Oh yeah, and they had a guy playing the trumpet as well, fantastic. If you aren’t familiar with them, you need to immediately go to YouTube and type in “And We Danced”. By far, the catchiest, most outrageous  song and music video that I have seen in a while, and if it doesn’t get stuck in your head for a week after listening to it, well, listen to it again. Not all of his songs are that ridiculous though, his other songs have much more personal anecdotes, that are empowering and make you just want to get in your car and drive in search of an adventure.

With my lazy Sunday, I ended up eating breakfast for two of my meals today (oops). My second round of breakfast today was a lush bowl of oatmeal. Oats are one of my favorite key ingredients for breakfast. You can bake them, cook them, throw them in pancakes or even a smoothie! And of course, they are so very good for you – what a bonus! This banana oatmeal is perfect if you have a lonesome brown banana that seems a bit sad. Despite how much this oatmeal tastes like a dessert, it’s healthy and a perfect wholesome meal.

Banana Oatmeal – serves 1

1/2 cup uncooked oats; 1/2 cup water; 1/2 cup milk; 1/2 overripe banana; 1 teaspoon vanilla; cinnamon; walnuts or pecans (chopped)

Glycerine based vanilla extract makes for an extra delicious addition (I could drink a whole bottle of this stuff!)

Stovetop: Add water to small saucepan and bring to boil. Add oats and milk, cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add more milk or water to reach desired consistency. Remove from heat, mix in mashed banana (I mashed mine into the oatmeal so that there were still nice pieces of banana left :]), vanilla, cinnamon and chopped nuts.

Microwave: Add oats, water and milk to a microwavable bowl. Cook in microwave for 3 minutes and allow to sit in microwave for 2 minutes. Stir in vanilla, banana, cinnamon and chopped nuts.

**Of course, if you want a little more indulgence, feel free to add a little brown sugar


