Leftover Chocolate and a Bake Sale

I have had to slow down my baking rate because of the overwhelming amount of sweets currently lying about my apartment. There are times where I really do think I have a problem! Last weekend ended with a trip to Porto’s in Glendale – yum yum yummm! Porto’s is a very well known bakery in Los Angeles and it was packed! Granted it was a Sunday, the ultimate pastry day of the week, but also their pastries are perfect and cheap! That being said, I of course had to pick up a couple…or several pastries. I ended up buying half a dozen pastries: strawberry cheese croissants, chocolate croissants, guava cheese strudels, you name it. Pure heaven. Hence, the baking hiatus.

However, the extra whiskey chocolate ganache that I made last week for my Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes (recipe here) has been staring back at me in my fridge for the last few days, so I finally turned them into simple truffles while watching countless episodes of Best Thing I Ever Ate on the Food Network (Sunday was really my undoing…). All you have to do once you have the ganache base is roll these babies in cocoa powder and voila! Instant candy. A minor warning, since I added extra Jameson at the end of preparing the ganache there was still a decent amount of alcohol and these truffles are left with an intense wake you up mouth explosion – but only in the best way of course :)

I will soon resume baking, however, as it’s time for the Los Angeles Food Blogger Bake Sale! On April 28, myself and fellow food bloggers will be holding a bake sale at BLD Restaurant (7450 Beverly Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90036) from 11:30-2:00 to support Share Our Strength’s Great American Bake Sale for the No Kid Hungry campaign. If you live in the LA area it would be great to see you! What’s better than eating a cupcake knowing that you are helping a child have access to a nutritious meal?  So help spread the word and if you have any suggestions on what I should bake, I would love to hear them! You can check out the other bloggers here.

