Boozy Birthdays (in cupcake form!)

Hooray for birthdays! Growing up, birthdays were always hugely celebrated in my house and not only did we receive priority and extra pampering on our special day, but for the entire month! Yup, that’s right, at my house we celebrate birth months. It’s not about giving gifts every day, rather, it is simply an excuse to be jovial without reason and adopt the care free attitude of a 5 year old (and c’mon…who doesn’t love that?).

Happy Birthday <3

And although I am currently having a selfish young person’s crisis of  never wanting to be older than 21, I continue to look forward to my birthday more than most people I know. So when it came to be my boyfriend’s birthday, and his 21st at that, I could not let it just be an ordinary celebration! When I turned 21, I made myself Gourmet’s 12 Layer Mocha Cake (which you can view here), no booze involved, just hard work. This time around, I could not resist making these Irish car bomb cupcakes from Authentic Suburban Gourmet. For those of you who are not hanging around college bars or Irish pubs, an Irish car bomb is a drink and it goes like this: 1 shot of Bailey’s and Jameson, which is then dropped into a pint of Guinness and immediately chugged. Sound fratty enough for ya? As a cupcake, these translate into a Guinness Chocolate cupcake, filled with Jameson chocolate ganache and topped with Bailey’s frosting. These cupcakes are fantastically rich and I had everyone telling me these are the best things I have ever made.

Now, I do not own an electric mixer so I did everything by hand, frosting and all, so this took me significantly longer to do than people who have well equipped kitchens…but they were so worth it! I also blanked out in the supermarket and bought unsweetened chocolate rather than bittersweet for the ganache, so I had to adjust my ingredients by adding more sugar, cream and a little more butter and Jameson. I am going to include the original recipe because I want yours to turn out perfectly! I also added more Bailey’s to the frosting because I found the cream cheese to be a little cumbersome initially and added less powdered sugar so it wasn’t overbearingly sweet.

Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes (adapted from Authentic Suburban Gourmet)

 makes 24 cupcakes

Cupcakes

1 cup Guinness stout; 1 cup unsalted butter; 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder; 2 cup all purpose flour; 2 cup sugar; 1 ½ teaspoons baking soda; 3/4 teaspoon salt; 2 large eggs; 2/3 cup sour cream

Ganache filling
9 ounces bittersweet chocolate; 2/3 cup heavy cream; 2 tablespoons butter, room temperature; 2 teaspoon whiskey (preferably Jameson); 1 teaspoon vanilla

Frosting
4 cups of confectioner’s sugar; ½ stick unsalted butter, at room temperature; 8 ounces Cream cheese; 2 teaspoons vanilla; 4 teaspoons of Baileys

Start by bringing the Guinness and butter to a simmer (careful to not let it overflow). Once the mixture has melted, whisk in the cocoa powder until blended and set aside.

In a stand mixer, beat the eggs and sour cream to blend in a mixer.

Add the chocolate and beer mixture to the stand mixer and blend until combined. Add the salt and baking soda until mixed then slowly add the flour and sugar until combined and beat for about a minute.

Pour the mixture into cupcake liners set inside a cup cake pan.

The Best Cupcake Liners of All Time

Only fill them about three quarters. Bake for about 15-20 minutes at 350ºF or until knife comes out clean. Let them cool on a wire rack.

While they cool, make the ganache filling. Over a double boiler or pan full of hot water, place a metal or glass bowl on top. Add the cream, whiskey and vanilla and let it heat on medium until very slightly bubbling. Then add the chocolate and stir until melted and smooth. Then add the butter and whisk until all combined. Set aside of the burner.


Use a sharp knife to hollow out a hole in each cupcake and I would recommend about an inch. With a spoon, fill each cupcake with the ganache. You may have some left over and you can make truffles. Simply chill and then form round balls and roll in cocoa.

To make the frosting, add the cream cheese and butter to a stand mixer and whip until fluffy. Add the vanilla and baileys and mix well. Slowly add the confectioner’s sugar until all gone and whip until light and fluffy – about 4 to 5 minutes.

Place into a large piping bag and decorate each cupcake.


