Sage and Butter, What more could you want?

Image

Somehow I have managed to put off grocery shopping since returning from Mexico (honestly, I have no idea how since it is one of my favorite errands…), leaving my pantry and fridge sparse and more than a little biased in food pyramid categories. The benefit of having such limited options, however, is that you are really forced into being creative and resourceful.

This dish is very easy and I make it all the time because I absolutely LOVE sage and browned butter. This sauce is best served with fresh gnocchi or homemade ravioli, but I certainly did not have the ingredients or time to do that for a weeknight meal! In the past I have prepared this sauce for Mark Bittman’s Ricotta Gnocchi and holy mother it was fantastic. Very rich…but drool inducing delicious. But for those of us who are time constrained, any pasta will do. I used penne because it perfectly collects little pools of butter within it, which is always, always a bonus.

Sage and Browned Butter Sauce with Penne – Serves 2 (Adapted from How to Cook Everything)

1/2 box penne; 4 Tbsp. butter; 20 sage leaves; 1/2 cup grated parmesan; salt and pepper to taste

Bring salted water to a rolling boil. Add pasta and cook as instructed. Meanwhile, melt butter over medium heat. Once melted, add whole sage leaves and allow to fry for 3 minutes, or until butter is a nice caramel color and sage is crisp.


Image
frying….
Image

perfect!

Drain pasta once cooked and toss with sauce. Add grated parmesan and mix thoroughly. Divide among two dishes and add salt and pepper to taste.

Image

