Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

The inspiration for baking these treats came from an awfully overdue thank you to a couple of my lovely friends in South Africa. Since I wanted to give them something personal, I instantly began flipping through my cookbooks. The only problem was that the treats would have to travel thousands of miles, be handled by all sorts of people and potentially take over a week to get there. With that sort of checklist my options decreased dramatically, leaving me with some dull recipes, but also recipes for biscotti!

I love biscotti, and I spend most of my time trying to convince myself that they are somewhat nutritious. Being an Italian dessert, biscotti lack the high sugar and butter content that other European sweets (*cough* France *cough*) have. That being said, that is why they are perfectly suited for pairing with your morning espresso. Since I am also a bit of a cornmeal fiend, I found a recipe for cranberry pistachio cornmeal biscotti. With the 50/50 ratio of AP flour and cornmeal, these cookies begin to enter the savory realm.

Although I’ve made biscotti before, for some reason, these took longer to bake than the provided directions indicated. At 30 minutes, the biscotti loaf was golden and cracked and looked perfect; however, when I began slicing it, I realized that the interior was still rather gooey. I made two batches and had the same problem with both. I think the reason may be because my loaf wasn’t flat enough. So keep that in mind if you try this recipe.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti - makes 2 dozen (Martha Stewart)

1 1/4 cup AP flour; 1 1/4 cup yellow cornmeal; 1/2 teaspoon baking powder; 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt; 6 tablespoons unsalted butter (room temperature); 1 cup turbinado sugar; 2 large eggs; 1 tablespoon lemon zest; 1 cup dried cranberries; 1 cup chopped pistachio

Preheat oven to 350°F. Whisk flour, cornmeal, baking powder and salt together.

Image

Mix butter with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth. Add sugar and mix until pale and fluffy. With mixer on medium speed, add eggs one at a time until well combined.

Image

Reduce speed to low and add flour mixture all at once. Mix until just combined. Add lemon zest, cranberries and pistachios and mix until combined. Transfer dough to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Pat into a log that is roughly 14 by 3 1/2 inches and bake until firm, lightly browned and slightly cracked on top, 30 to 35 minutes.

Image

Let cool on a sheet about 15 minutes. Transfer log to a cutting board and use a serrated knife to cut 1/2″ diagonal slices.

Image

 Arrange on baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake until they begin to brown at edges, 15 to 18 minutes. Rotate sheet half way. When done baking, allow to fully cool before munching :)

Image

