Butter Bean Chicken Salad

Right when I really began getting my hands dirty in the kitchen I subscribed to Food Network Magazine. While it’s not as highly regarded as Saveur or Bon Appetit, it’s a great introduction to fresh, quality meals for someone who previously didn’t spend too much time cooking. One year later and I’m still eagerly awaiting my monthly issue of FNM. Their collection of weeknight meals every month has really helped me organize my dinners during the week, especially because I don’t have much time to spend in the kitchen (this blog may prove otherwise…). Yesterday was a long work day, so when it came to be dinner time I knew that my trusted June issue of FNM would come to the rescue! My sister was my handy sous chef last night, and together we prepared an adaptation on their Butter Bean Chicken Salad. This was listed as one of their “30 minute meals”, and would you believe it, by the time we prepped, cooked and sat down to eat, it had been 30 minutes! Bonus points well earned.

Butter Bean Chicken Salad - serves 4 (adapted from the June 2012 issue of Food Network Magazine)

1 15 oz. can butter beans; 4 chicken thighs; 1/4 cup EVOO; 6 cups mixed baby greens; 2 stalks celery (chopped);  zest and juice of 1 lemon; 6 sprigs rosemary; 1/2 red onion diced; ****we added some of our leftover roasted beets for another flavor profile

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add chicken, rosemary and onion and cook for 4 minutes or until chicken is golden and onions are translucent. Cover and cook for 5-8 minutes, or until chicken is fully cooked.

Meanwhile, mix beans, celery, lemon juice and zest together in a large bowl.

ODJ squeezing lemons like a pro

Once chicken is done, slice thinly against the grain and toss with bean mixture. Add roasted beets (optional). Toss with baby greens and serve up!

